Are you there, God? It’s me, druidchick

It’s been my personal experience that children of pastors often turn out very religious, or very rebellious.  I went the rebellious route myself, although I didn’t take it to the extremes that some acquaintances did.  However, my youthful anti-establishment stance has mellowed somewhat over the years, and now in my grand old age of late-twenties I’m ready to think over everything again with an open mind to both sides.

What the heck is this completely-inappropriate-to-wow-blogging twaddle?

Well I went to church today for the first time in a while & it got me thinking.  I mean here’s a question- so Jesus was the Messiah, and the only way for people to get to heaven is to believe in Him… but then what about all the people who lived & died before He was ever born?  What about the people who lived & died before the Israelites ever left Egypt, before the Ark & the Covenant?  What about the people who lived & died before Moses brought down the Ten Commandments?

Once when I was young, I read something in C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia series that always stuck with me:

There was a young soldier from an enemy country who basically worshipped Tash (Satan) all his life, but he was a good & honest man, just born in the wrong religion I guess.  When Judgment Day came, he saw Aslan (Jesus) and he knew instantly that he should go to hell for having lived his life following Tash.  But Aslan said, “No, Tash & I are such opposites that any good deed you did in the name of Tash was really in my name.  Any promise you made and kept in Tash’s name was accorded to me, and you wouldn’t have followed Tash so long & faithfully if you weren’t really searching for me.  In the same way, any evil that men do in my name, they are really serving Tash.”

I totally paraphrased that but you get the gist.  I always liked that thought, that in the end we’ll be judged on our merit rather than our different faiths.  I’m not rock steady on where I stand on Christianity yet, but I think that idea’s something I’ll always hold onto…

Pretty random but it was the most interesting thought I had today.

In other news I got Tribute to Insanity (10) today.

Group comp:
2 resto druids (me+Babyfresh)
1 holy priest
1 feral tank
1 warrior tank
1 dps warrior
1 dk
1 hunter
1 warlock
1 enh shaman

2 Responses to “Are you there, God? It’s me, druidchick”

  1. I’ve wondered about that as well. What happens to all the people that don’t believe in the God that made the convenant with Abraham? Even people today that may not have the opportunity to learn of God? Do they all go to hell?

    I console myself with two thoughts. The first is that God, by definition, is ineffable and thus unknowable. I cannot divine His thoughts. I will always be ignorant of the larger picture and can only make feeble guesses as a flail semi-contendently on the surface of a deeper pool of knowledge. In a word I am ignorant and I have to trust that He has a larger plan and that He hasn’t abandoned those that through accident of birth are not able to know the Him as God as I was taught.

    The second is that when the bible states “For God so loved the world that the gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life” and when Jesus says, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will never die.” I don’t know if (and this could be sacrilegious) that Jesus and John mean the literal Jesus. That Jesus means, me an incarnation of God that walks the earth as a man. Or if Jesus is using himself as a metaphor and that the path to heaven can be reached by believing in what Jesus represents.

  2. Very good post. Things like this tend to make me think that God knows sooo much more than anyone here can possibly know. Lodron, I too have thoughts of wondering if the Bible is being literal or not. The way I look at is this. The way to hell is knowing what “true” right and wrong is, and still choosing wrong. If you are born and never have the opportunity to know Christ, there still is a chance based on what you do in the name of whatever God you serve. If you are born and know about Christ, however, through upbringing and such (if young), then there still is a chance. However, if you are old enough to understand the truths yet still turn away, then your judgement awaits. That just my personal opinion at the current moment.

    That was a very good C.S. Lewis quote from Narnia. It’s very enlightening.

    PS – Do you watch the TV show Supernatural?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

